How To Delete Instagram Account

Updated on 9 months by Peter Jakes

Instagram is a great platform that allows you to connect with your friends, family, your favorite celebrity, and the world in general. The platform has over 1 billion users and still gets more users by the day.

Active Instagrammers use the photo-sharing platform to update their followers on their activities. However, for some people, it can be really addicting. And for some others, it can be exhausting.

They find it exhausting to continuously update and document every aspect of their lives, missing out on moments while taking perfect pictures for their followers.

If you find yourself in any of these positions, you may consider deleting your account. This post will show you how to disable your Instagram account temporarily or delete the account permanently in just a few steps.

However, take note that deleting your Instagram account is a permanent action. Once you delete it, you can’t undo it. You will also lose all your photos, history, posts, followers, comments, and likes permanently. Additionally, you will not be able to use the same username to sign up again for a new account.

Let’s get to it.

How To Delete Your Instagram Account

Instagram does not provide the functionality to delete your account through the app, so you have to perform this action using your mobile browser or your computer.

1. Log in to your Instagram account from your phone or computer.

2. Navigate to the “Delete Your Account” page. (https://instagram.com/accounts/remove/request/permanent/).

3. “Why are you deleting your account?” will come up. Pick your answer from the drop-down list.

4. Input your password.

5. Tap on “Permanently delete my account.”

If you are not sure you want to permanently delete your Instagram account you can choose a temporary action by taking a break instead. Instagram allows you to deactivate your account temporarily and come back to it after a while.

Deactivating your Instagram account means that Instagram will hide your videos, photos, profile, likes, and comments from users. Once you reactivate the account, those hidden features will reappear. If you want to deactivate your Instagram account, you can do that in just a few steps.

How To Deactivate Your Instagram Account

Just like when deleting your account, Instagram does not provide the functionality to deactivate your account through the app, so you have to perform this action using your mobile browser, or your computer.

1. Log in to your Instagram account from your phone or computer.

2. Go to the top right corner and tap on the user icon to get to your profile.

3. Tap on “Edit Profile.”

4. Go to the bottom of the page, then tap on “Temporarily disable my account” at the bottom left corner.

5. “Why are you disabling your account?” will come up. Pick your answer from the drop-down list.

6. Input your password.

7. Once you input your password, you will see a “Temporarily Disable Account” button.

8. Tap on the “Temporarily Disable Account” button to deactivate your account.

Note that It may take up to few hours before this action takes place.

Similar Posts